bee3flippedDeath By Bourbon



My name is Josiah Reynolds. I am a retired art professor who was named after a biblical king known for his righteousness. Like King Josiah, I believe in right and wrong. It takes a wise person to know the difference. Sometimes right and wrong look the same in the daylight, but opposite in the reflection of moonbeams.

I should know. I have bent the law to suit my own purposes.

Sometimes to right a wrong.

Sometimes to protect myself.

Sometimes to help a friend.

And at times, these are heavy burdens that can turn around and bite you in the ass.

The sun is going down over the gray limestone palisades. The pool lights have come on. The birds are flying to roost in the nearby walnut, oak, and paw paw trees.

I’m sitting on the patio with a frosted silver glass filled with bourbon, sugar, and crushed ice accompanied by a sprig of mint I pulled from the herb garden for a drink that is called a Mint Julep.

I’m ready to tell Addison DeWitt’s story. It is a story about greed. Men have been killed for lesser reasons in this land, but all of them died bloodied like Addison.

Like so many other men, Kentucky snared Addison and then killed him . . . without remorse, without pity. She just grabbed him in her ancient claws like an osprey skimming fish in the Kentucky River.

But somehow evil is balanced in Caintuck.

Like I always said–there is justice and then there is Kentucky justice.

Available as an ebook:

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook Google Play Kobo


Available Internationally:

amazonaustralia  amazon_buylink-uk  amazoncanada  amazonindia copy

Available in print:


Life takes a dramatic turn for Josiah when she witnesses a death at an engagement party for Matt, her best friend.

Charming socialite Addison DeWitt falls into a fit after taking a sip of bourbon. That would be upsetting enough, but Josiah is sure it is murder. However, no one will believe her except for Lady Elsmere and Meriah Caldwell, the famous mystery writer. The three of them conspire to bring the murderer to justice. It turns out the suspect is always three steps ahead of them.

To make matters worse, Josiah’s daughter, Asa decides to move to London, Franklin leaves town, and Jake starts singing a different tune. Josiah doubts her ability to meet the future alone. Maybe it’s time to sell the Butterfly and move to Florida with the rest of the old folks.

But Josiah is sure of one thing. There is justice and then there is Kentucky justice.

Share This!Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInGoogle+share on TumblrEmail to someonePrint this pageBuffer this pageDigg thisFlattr the authorShare on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Fast Facts

Series: Josiah Reynolds Mysteries, Book 4

Publisher: Worker Bee Press

Genre: Mystery

Length: 196 pages

Format: eBook & print

ISBN: 978-0615651590



Printable Booklist

Josiah Reynolds Mysteries

Saga of the de Magela Family

A Last Chance For Love


Death By A Honey Bee

Book 1

Death By Drowning

Book 2

Death By Bridle

Book 3

Death By Lotto

Book 5

Death By Chocolate

Book 6

Death By Haunting

Book 7

Death By Derby

Book 8

Death By Design

Book 9

Death By Malice

Book 10