My name is Josiah Reynolds. I am a retired art professor who was named after a biblical king known for his righteousness. Like King Josiah, I believe in right and wrong. It takes a wise person to know the difference. Sometimes right and wrong look the same in the daylight, but opposite in the reflection of moonbeams.

I should know. I have bent the law to suit my own purposes.

Sometimes to right a wrong.

Sometimes to protect myself.

Sometimes to help a friend.

And at times, these are heavy burdens that can turn around and bite you in the ass.

The sun is going down over the gray limestone palisades. The pool lights have come on. The birds are flying to roost in the nearby walnut, oak, and paw paw trees.

I’m sitting on the patio with a frosted silver glass filled with bourbon, sugar, and crushed ice accompanied by a sprig of mint I pulled from the herb garden for a drink that is called a Mint Julep.

I’m ready to tell Addison DeWitt’s story. It is a story about greed. Men have been killed for lesser reasons in this land, but all of them died bloodied like Addison.

Like so many other men, Kentucky snared Addison and then killed him . . . without remorse, without pity. She just grabbed him in her ancient claws like an osprey skimming fish in the Kentucky River.

But somehow evil is balanced in Caintuck.

Like I always said–there is justice and then there is Kentucky justice.

Available as an ebook:

Amazon Kindle Barnes and Noble Nook Google Play Kobo


Available Internationally:

amazonaustralia  amazon_buylink-uk  amazoncanada  amazonindia copy

Death By Bourbon:

Life takes a dramatic turn for Josiah when she witnesses a death at an engagement party for Matt, her best friend.

Charming socialite Addison DeWitt falls into a fit after taking a sip of bourbon. That would be upsetting enough, but Josiah is sure it is murder. However, no one will believe her except for Lady Elsmere and Meriah Caldwell, the famous mystery writer. The three of them conspire to bring the murderer to justice. It turns out the suspect is always three steps ahead of them.

To make matters worse, Josiah’s daughter, Asa decides to move to London, Franklin leaves town, and Jake starts singing a different tune. Josiah doubts her ability to meet the future alone. Maybe it’s time to sell the Butterfly and move to Florida with the rest of the old folks.

But Josiah is sure of one thing. There is justice and then there is Kentucky justice.

Death By Lotto:

Ethel Bradley thinks someone is trying to kill her, but doesn’t know who or why. She enlists the help of her childhood friend, Lady Elsmere, but Lady Elsmere has troubles of her own in the form of a ne’er-do-well English nephew who’s trying to steal her estate. Both women turn to Josiah Reynolds, who has just returned from New York.

Josiah calls Detective Goetz who recommends a shamus named Walter Neff. Walter and Josiah scour the Bluegrass for answers that turn out to be deadly. To make matters worse for Josiah, Fred O’nan (the rogue cop who tried to kill Josiah in Death By A HoneyBee) is a free man and still gunning for her.

Josiah, full of sass and vinegar, meets these challenges head on with the support of her friends, Franklin and Matt. Will Josiah be thwarted this time?

Kentucky can be a cruel mistress to those wanting justice and exacts a high price for it. Sometimes the “dark and bloody ground” demands double indemnity. This is something Josiah knows very well. Very well indeed.

Death By Chocolate:

Josiah Reynolds is tracking down the disappearance of an old friend’s son. But while she is chasing a missing person, O’nan is hot on Josiah’s trail chasing her. And he is threatening, conniving, and blackmailing others to help destroy the woman he thinks ruined his life. Will he finally succeed?

Or will Josiah outwit him as she has always done?

One thing is for sure . . . when Josiah and O’nan finally clash at the Cumberland Falls, will justice will be done? As Josiah always says – there is the law and then there is Kentucky justice. Will Josiah survive the thundering and treacherous waters of the Cumberland Falls or will O’nan finally push our brave Josiah over the edge?

Share This!Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInGoogle+share on TumblrEmail to someonePrint this pageBuffer this pageDigg thisFlattr the authorShare on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Fast Facts

Series: Josiah Reynolds Mysteries, Box Set 2

Publisher: Worker Bee Press

Genre: Mystery

Length: 515 pages

Format: eBook



Printable Booklist

Josiah Reynolds Mysteries

Saga of the de Magela Family

Last Chance Motel


Death By A Honey Bee

Book 1

Death By Drowning

Book 2


Death By Bridle

Book 3

Death By Bourbon

Book 4

Death By Lotto

Book 5

Death By Chocolate

Book 6

Death By Haunting

Book 7

Death By Derby

Book 8

Death By Design

Book 9

Death By Malice

Book 10